View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 4:05 am

Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
meanwhiles-- regarding good cans and great companies.. 
Scratch mixing the fossil record

Post meanwhiles-- regarding good cans and great companies..
welp. a coupla you guys know i've been mixing a ton o' bass music lately. y'know what that done did? it blew up my grados!

no shit.. my trusty grado sr80's.. the right channel started to grattle. welp. it finally went FFRRTSSXZZZZZTT! blew right the fuck up. :(

not ENTIRELY a surprise.. i've been beating on these things since like 1996.

so i started looking for replacements. when i DID, i looked at the grado website, and there's a proviso that said 'if you buy yours from some amazon vendors-- they're not all certified grado dealers, and if you pick the wrong one, we won't warranty 'em'. pretty explicitly. so i emailed grado.

they told me, well.. you can buy new ones from xy and z dealers-- but you can also have your out of warranty cans fixed. Just fill out this handy dandy attached form, and send it to us, and we'll mail them back!

how much?

THIRTY BUX.

so thinking, this is WAY too good to be true.. i mailed 'em back. 'do you replace BOTH drivers for 30 bux?!'.. answer) of course, stupid. :D and they returned the email within an HOUR. no kidding.

so i sent mine aged cans back to brooklyn. i talked to a super sweet older lady who took my credit card info. got it all squared away. i figured it'd take a month. NOPE. a WEEK to the day later. they turned up.

now-- like i said, these cans were worn. i've replaced the jack 3 separate times. there's been 4 sets of earpads on them. the silk on the cans was pretty tatty. i got 'em back-- TOTALLY spiffed up, new silk, and i didn't even ask for it-- but a brand new upgraded jack AND cables WITH the new drivers.