View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 2:24 pm

Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
ubercheap awesome cans alert! 
Scratch mixing the fossil record

Post ubercheap awesome cans alert!
gents.. I gotta pass this on.

I'm always looking for decent listening devices, and beings as i'm good with cans for now, i need cheap in ears for work 'cause i'm always walking around, and big honkin things on my head look absurd out of context.. and as i fix machinery and such for a living.. i also don't wanna bung up good headphones doing it.

having been through a string of nice, but FREAKIN TERRIBLY made 'higher end' IEMs... i about gave up on the whole deal. then i bought some cheap sony ones, and rethunk. if SONY can get it right, or at least APPROXIMATE right, theres gotta be someone out there doing it well.

so i dug round and googlified, and came up with Logitech who makes these Ultimate Ears things. more i dug, more it said 'mid-centric and decent'.

THEN- i got a message from new egg. UE 200 in ears-- $12.99

SOLD.

got 'em. positively absolutely nothing to write home bout in the looks department, but yep. right on the money sonically. good detail. VERY mid centric-- but not v30 midcentric-- like CLEAR mid-centric. not super extendoid fakey top end. no super boom shit bass. just freakin' right on the money, honest to god midrange loving music. THIRTEEN BUCKS. they usually go for somewheres like 20-- but shit... who really cares at less than 20 bux?

the isolation on them is fantastic, and with the right sized ear-thingy-- they could make REALLY good live recording 'cans'.. that're way less bleed-y than most headphones... would work well for tracking vox, 'cause they don't end up in your mics. hell.. i'd use 'em on stage if i had any such reason to do so or the infrastructure to use them, which i don't... but i could.. :D